Pinterest Google+

Awards season continues with today’s announcement of the 82nd Annual Drama League Award nominations for Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical and Distinguished Performance Award. The five award categories recognize Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Broadway’s Aladdin stars Adam Jacobs, Courtney Reed and James Monroe Iglehart announced the 2016 nominations for the Drama League Awards on April 20, during an exclusive livestream from Sardi’s.

Among the nominations for outstanding plays and musicals were: Danai Gurira’s Eclipsed; Dominique Morisseau’s Skeleton Crew; Branden Jacobs-JenkinsGloria; The Gin Game (James Earl Jones, Cicely Tyson); Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Hamilton; and The Color Purple (partly produced by Oprah Winfrey);

The productions of Shuffle Along and Cirque du Soleil: Paramour will be considered for the 2016-2017 season.

Outstanding Play
10 Out of 12
The Father
The Humans
King Charles III
Marjorie Prime
The Royale
Skeleton Crew

Outstanding Revival of a Play
Awake and Sing!
Cloud Nine
The Crucible
The Gin Game
Long Day’s Journey into Night
A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Noises Off
Sense and Sensibility
A View from the Bridge

Outstanding Musical
American Psycho
Bright Star
Dear Evan Hansen
On Your Feet!
School of Rock, The Musical
Tuck Everlasting

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
The Color Purple
Dames at Sea
Fiddler on the Roof
She Loves Me
Spring Awakening

The Distinguished Performance Award selects one winner, and the recipient only can receive the award once during his or her career – making it a much-coveted award. The 50 nominees include:

Nina Arianda, Fool for Love
Annaleigh Ashford, Sylvia
Laura Benanti, She Loves Me
Reed Birney, The Humans
Alex Brightman, School of Rock, The Musical
Danny Burstein, Fiddler on the Roof
Timothee Chalamet, Prodigal Son
Kelley Curran, The Dingdong
Carmen Cusack, Bright Star
Jeff Daniels, Blackbird
Khris Davis, The Royale
Daveed Diggs, Hamilton
Georgia Engel, John
Cynthia Erivo, The Color Purple
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Fully Committed
Lynda Gravatt, Skeleton Crew
Michael C. Hall, Lazarus
Anne Hathaway, Grounded
Megan Hilty, Noises Off
Jackie Hoffman, Once Upon a Mattress
Jayne Houdyshell, The Humans
Jennifer Hudson, The Color Purple
Marin Ireland, Ironbound
Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Tuck Everlasting
Leslie Kritzer, The Robber Bridegroom
Jessica Lange, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Judith Light, Therese Raquin
Zachary Levi, She Loves Me
Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton
Jessie Mueller, Waitress
Kristine Nielsen, Hir
Lupita Nyong’o, Eclipsed
Sophie Okonedo, The Crucible
Annette O’Toole, Southern Comfort
Tim Pigott-Smith, King Charles III
Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen
Phylicia Rashad, Head of Passes
Sam Rockwell, Fool for Love
Thomas Jay Ryan, 10 Out of 12
Michael Shannon, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Jennifer Simard, Disaster!
Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime and John
Mark Strong, A View from the Bridge
Cicely Tyson, The Gin Game
Michael Urie, Shows for Days
Ana Villafane, On Your Feet!
Benjamin Walker, American Psycho
Nicola Walker, A View from the Bridge
Ben Whishaw, The Crucible
Michelle Williams, Blackbird

The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards, hosted by Zachary Levi (Chuck) and Megan Hilty (Smash), will be 11:30 a.m., Friday, May 20, at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom.

The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America with the first award in 1922 and a formal award in 1935.

Previous post

66th Annual Outer Critics Circle Nominations Are Here!

Next post

Cast of Color Purple and Hamilton Pay Tribute to Prince on Broadway